Advice on configuring AirDrop to prevent unsolicited content reaching your devices

iphone
iphone

There have been reports of students receiving unsolicited content via AirDrop on their devices. Follow this advice from Information Services to prevent receiving unwanted and malicious content.

AirDrop is a convenient way to transfer files and more between Apple devices. There are settings considerations you should to take note of as an Apple device owner, to avoid malicious and unsolicited files being shared to your devices.

When sharing a file from one of your devices, you will be able to see any device within range that can accept files in AirDrop dialogs. These may be your devices, for example, you may want to send a file from your iPhone to your Mac. However, you will be able to see other devices owned by your friends, colleagues, or even strangers. It is therefore important to configure AirDrop so that it is not discoverable to strangers.

To do this on your Mac, invoke AirDrop (in the Finder, Go AirDrop), then, at the  bottom of the Finder window, you will see "Allow me to be discovered by." There are three options: 

AirDrop (which allows you to turn on and off AirDrop access, turn this off when you  are not using it recommended)

(which displays your AirDrop devices only to people in your contacts  list and uses the Apple IDs in Contacts)

Everyone (which means your AirDrop is discoverable to anyone within range, this  option is not recommended).

On your iOS mobile devices, go to  Settings > General > AirDrop  to make this change.

Settings >  General

If an app isn’t available on your home screen, swipe left to access the App Library.

You should not set your AirDrop to "Everyone", as you will run the risk of receiving malicious or unsolicited files. The files may contain explicit photos or other malicious files which may cause distress or be harmful to your device.

  • University College London, Gower Street, London, WC1E 6BT (0) 20 7679 2000