University of Glasgow Honorary Degrees 2024

University of Glasgow Honorary Degrees 2024

The University of Glasgow is awarding honorary degrees to recipients in recognition of their achievements in the fields of politics, arts, science and humanities on this year’s Commemoration Day.

The awards will be presented at a special ceremony on Wednesday 12 June which marks the foundation of the University in 1451.

Among the recipients are author and commentator Darren McGarvey ; Professor Ernest Aryeety, Secretary-General of the African Research Universities Alliance; Baroness Coussins ; Professor Sir William Blair , barrister and former judge; and architect Ridwan Kamil .

Others recognised on Commemoration Day are Professor Katherine Belov , Professor of Comparative Genomics and Pro Vice-Chancellor at the University of Sydney; Professor Anne Ferguson-Smith , Arthur Balfour Professor of Genetics and Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research and International Partnerships at the University of Cambridge; Dr Veronica Crosbie , c’hair of Places of Sanctuary, Ireland; and businessman Brian McBride .

Honorary degrees will also be awarded to a host of recipients during the University’s summer ceremonies - including author Janice Galloway ; composer Errollyn Wallen ; head of the Trussell in Trust in Scotland, Polly Jones ; and, media executive and chair of the Scottish Professional Football League, Murdoch MacLennan .

Professor Sir Anton Muscatelli, Principal & Vice-Chancellor, University of Glasgow, said: -Awarding honorary degrees is a way for the University of Glasgow to recognise world-changing achievements and celebrate the successes of individuals who have made a positive impact on society.

-I am delighted that the University is recognising graduands from a range of diverse backgrounds and disciplines who have each made an important difference in their respective fields, bringing benefit to people’s lives across the globe.-

The full list of honorary degrees 2024 is:

Commemoration Day - Wednesday 12 June 2024

Doctor of Laws (LLD)

  • Professor Sir William BLAIR, Barrister and Former Judge

Doctor of Letters (DLitt)

  • The Baroness COUSSINS, The House of Lords
  • Darren MCGARVEY, Author and Political Commentator

Doctor of Science (DSc)

  • Professor Ernest ARYEETEY, Secretary-General African Research Universities Alliance
  • Professor Katherine BELOV, Professor of Comparative Genomics and Pro Vice-Chancellor, University of Sydney
  • Professor Anne FERGUSON-SMITH, Arthur Balfour Professor of Genetics and Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research and International Partnerships, University of Cambridge

DOCTOR of the University (DUniv)
  • Dr Veronica CROSBIE, Chair Places of Sanctuary, Ireland
  • Ridwan KAMIL, Architect
  • Brian MCBRIDE, Businessperson

Summer 2024 Graduations

Doctor of Laws (LLD)

  • Professor John CAIRNS, Scottish Legal Historian, University of Edinburgh

Doctor of Letters (DLitt)

  • Professor Graham CAIE, Professor of English and Former Clerk of Senate and Vice-Principal
  • Janice GALLOWAY, Author
  • Professor Sally TOMLINSON, Professor of Education

Doctor of Music (DMus)

  • Errollyn WALLEN, Composer

Doctor of Science (DSc)

  • Professor Chak Sing LAU, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Hong Kong
  • Professor Takaaki KAJITA, Co-Recipient of the Nobel Prize for Physics
  • Professor Halina RUBINSZTEIN-DUNLOP, Professor of Physics , University of Queensland

Doctor of the University (DUniv)

  • Polly JONES, Head of Scotland, The Trussell Trust
  • Murdoch MACLENNAN, Businessperson

Crichton Campus, Dumfries, 4 July 2024

Doctor of Letter (DLitt)

  • Razan AL-MUBARAK, President of the International Union for Conservation of Nature

Adam Smith Distinguished Speaker Series, 15 May 2024

Doctor of Letter (DLitt)

  • Daron ACEMOGLU, Economist